Common sense prevailed today in the case of the Palmeiras handball goal.

Judges with the Supreme Tribunal of Sports Justice (see their decision here) ruled that the referee was right to disallow the illegal goal and confirmed the 2-1 victory for Internacional stands.

As I explain in my Reuters story here:

Palmeiras were losing the Brazilian championship match on Oct. 27 when Argentine striker Hernan Barcos punched the ball into the net to apparently level the score.

The referee originally disallowed the goal but back-tracked amid furious protests from Internacional players, delaying the match for five minutes.

Palmeiras claimed the fourth official had been told of the handball by a colleague who watched a replay.

Barcos didn’t deny punching the ball into the net, although he alleged it was not deliberate.

But Palmeiras argued that match officials chalked the goal off only after seeing it on television replays, which would violate FIFA’s rules.

Palmeiras are almost certain to be relegated for the second time in 10 years.

They currently lie third bottom of the league and are seven points behind the team fifth from bottom with four games left to play. Four teams go down.

Here’s the goal at 1:20 in this clip: