The son of an old correspondent friend asked me if I would write stories for a blog he was editing for India’s Mahindra group.

The blog is entitled RISE and it features stories from around the world grouped around that broad theme.

My first piece from Brazil was this one, about the recycling project organized by the Light electricity company in one of Rio’s most iconic favelas.

It’s a topic I am passionate about and am already working on my next piece, about a Northeastern immigrant to São Paulo who has built up his own business with the help of small loans.

It’s an inspiring tale and with credit more readily available it is one that is not as rare here as it was a few years ago.

If you are in Brazil and think you have any good examples that would fit under the theme RISE then drop me a line with the details at: andrewdowniebrazil@gmail.com