I went to Dilma’s last rally in São Paulo on Monday night. It rained incessantly but it was still the biggest rally of the campaign, according to the PT.

The rain put a bit of a dampener on things but it was still good to see and hear the biggest names in the PT appealing for votes.

Alongside Dilma, Senate candidates Marta Suplicy and Netinho addressed the crowd, as did gubernatorial candidate Aloizio Mercadante, whose angry speech belied his calm and measured exterior.

I had hoped to get some of that colour into this Time magazine piece but it didn’t really fit. My piece is more of a profile and the challenges Dilma faces.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get an interview with her but I hope that will be resolved soon.

I know I am not alone. Most of my colleagues have tried to sit down with her but she’s avoided the press, for understandable reasons.

After all, she is far ahead in the polls and taking her lead from Lula she is already treating the press as the enemy. The bottom line for her is that she has everything to lose by opening up and very little to gain.

Mac Margolis over at Newsweek wrote a not dissimilar piece on Dilma and her future presidency here. Although I don’t know Mac well, he is, in my opinion, one of the best and certainly one of the most experienced correspondents in Brazil. Anything he writes about Brazil is worth reading (the unfortunate headline to his piece notwithstanding).