When I was a kid I loved to buy football cards and World Cup stickers. The cards you bought with a stick of bubblegum in them and I think they cost 5 pence.

The stickers couldn’t have been much more but unlike the cards, which came out every season, they were once every four years.

They were also much more exotic, with players not from Dundee or Aberdeen or Glasgow, but Argentina, Brazil and West Germany.

These old sticker albums were on my mind when I wrote this piece for the Monitor about Brazil’s sticker craze.

I’ve always thought that Brazil was a country where adults are given an unusual freedom to be children, or to remain children longer. It may be a natural part of the playful nature of Brazilians, or maybe it’s the overprotective family that keeps them younger for longer.

But it is still surprising to me that so many adults collect the stickers and go to such lengths to complete the album. As I mention in the piece, adults were organizing get togethers to swap duplicates at shopping malls and football stadiums all over the country.

It’s all a bit odd to me, seeing adults getting so excited about a childish pastime like collecting football stickers.

But then again, I am writing this while taking a break from watching football matches. My entire month will be interrupted by games. So people might say that’s odd….